** I’m a little Snowman **

11 Dec

I LOVE snowmen!!! I find them very sweet πŸ™‚ Maybe, my interest towards snowy things is increased because I live in Barcelona, where we hardly ever get some snow. I am 31 years old and as far as I remember, I have only experienced snow in my city 4 or 5 times!!!

Due to my interest towards snowmen, I planned a Christmas unit for my 2nd Primary students focused on them. I have to say, snowmen are also very popular amongst my students πŸ˜‰ So we all enjoyed this unit!

To start with, we present our snowman:

snowman

We comment on the accessories that he wears, and we focus on 3 of them:

Right after, I present this Snowman song by “Super simple songs”which I adore. The song is simply perfect because it focuses on describing the snowman and what he wears.

When singing the song, I add some body movements to help the students understand better what the lyrics are about. This way, we sing the song but also dance it πŸ˜€

Another day, we play a game called “Do you want to build a snowman?”. Each group of 3 or 4 students recieves the sheet with the game, a dice and a white sheet of paper.

game

The goal of the game is to build a snowman all together. The first roll chooses the body shape, the second roll the face style, the third roll the type of arms, the forth roll the hat or hair and finally what the scarf looks like. Once they are all built, they have to be coloured and we display them on the walls.

The following day, we watch the lovely Frosty’s winter wonderland film. It is not very long, which makes it ideal for one session πŸ™‚

70012274

On the last two days, we focus on making a snowman themed Christmas card.The idea is to make a collage snowman using coloured papers and making sure each snowman wears a hat, buttons and a scarf. This is the example I showed my students:

collage

Instead of writing the message on the front as it is done here, I suggested my students to write the Christmas wishes on the back of the coloured construction paper. This way, the snowman is not covered πŸ™‚

 

Leave a Reply

