Christmas FUN for the little ones!

29 Nov

Christmas is one of my favourite festivals. I guess that, as it happens to many other teachers, it is funnier and easier to plan Christmas lessons and create Christmas resources than it happens with other celebrations that are normally used in the ESL class.

There are so many materials that can be used when planning Christmas based lessons that we could get lost in them! I have had that feeling before, so I understand that feeling of finding cool stuff and thinking “I could use this, I could use that” and after downloading lots of resources not knowing how to organise them or how to use them with our pupils.

I would like to share what I am using at the moment in my preschool lessons. Feel free to use anything you like!

I tend to start the Christmas lessons watching a cartoons episode the ones I am using at the moment for the different preschool levels are:

– Peppa Pig “Santa’s visit”

– Mickey mouse clubhouse “Mickey saves Santa”

– The baby triplets “Christmas” 

You can find them all in youtube 🙂

 

As usual, I like them learning some vocabulary with the help of flashcards. The eight words I chose are these ones:

Sense títol

You can ask them to help you colouring them and once they are coloured you can laminate them to be able to use them for some TPR games.

There is this poem that my pupils really like saying, it is called Santa will pop!. Next, there is the video tutorial I made for my pupils so they can rehearse it at home.

Sense títol1

Here there is the Santa image that they have to colour and cut out. Once it is done, you can glue it onto a transparent plastic stick so it isn’t visible.

 

A Christmas Carol I really like singing with the little ones is Jingle Bells, the catchy rhythm is great! We don’t singing it all, we usually focus on the chorus. The version I like is this one because it is slow enough for the children to get the lyrics:

 

There are a couple of worksheets that could be done. In the first one, the children have to cut out the snowman and decide how they dress it up and in the second one they have to draw inside the stocking the presents they would like to get.

Sense títol2 Sense títol3

One Response to “Christmas FUN for the little ones!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Christmas FUN for the little ones! | Laia's TEFL corner - December 7, 2015

    […] Source: Christmas FUN for the little ones! […]

Leave a Reply

