Learning some colours with… Pocoyo!!!

24 Aug

Using our pupils interests to catch their attention in class is the best way to create motivation. The days I keep an eye in the playground during break time, I like speaking with them about the tv programs, songs and films that are popular at the moment. Believe it or not, it is precious information! Moreover, they will look at you differently if you can have a chat about the singer,  tv character or whoever is most popular at the moment. It is a good investment of time doing a little research on the internet or even watching some of episodes of the cartoons or tv series they like in order to be updated on what is cool for your pupils.

I remember a few years ago when some students asked me to play some Miley Cyrus songs (when she was still cute!!!) and I was able to sing one by heart and even dance the choreography. For a few days I was the star of the school, they couldn’t believe their teacher liked the same music! I must say I love dancing, so it wasn’t much of a hassle for me 😉

In the case I want to share today, I use the adorable and cute Pocoyo TV program to help my little pupils learn the name of some colours in English. At the moment, Pocoyo and Dora are the stars, so I try to include some of their episodes in my lessons.

This is the episode about colours that I use in class:

 

Once we have watched it, I like playing some TPR games. For these games I prefer to use some colourful scarfs but it is also possible to use flashcards.

IMG_20140824_190153

 

Some of the games we play are:

“who is wearing something…?” They have to put their hands up and say “ME!” if they are wearing the mentioned colour.

–  “If you wear….” Depending on the colour I show, they have to do certain movements such as stand up, twirl, jump, clap hands, etc.

– “Find something…” I show them a colour and they have to find an object in the classroom that is the same colour.

– “Colourful catwalk” I tell them to put one of the colourful scarfs on and if they choose the correct one they can model around the class showing the scarf off. (Girls love this game!)

 

If you have a computer, a tablet or a smartboard in class, you can play these online games altogether:

http://www.mes-games.com/colors.php

http://www.sheppardsoftware.com/preschool/ngames/colors.htm

http://www.angles365.com/classroom/fitxers/infantil/colours01.swf

 

There is also this song that I like using when teaching colours to very young learners because it is quite repetitive and they easily learn it and sing it along with me. I saw the song written somewhere ages ago and I think I modified the lyrics a bit. Since there wasn’t any video I made my own 🙂

 

I’m a party person, and I also enjoy having parties with my little pupils. This is why I like organizing the Balloon Party with them. What does it consist of? Very simple, I give them some balloon templates that they have to colour and then punch out. When everybody has finished their balloon, we display them on a wonderful poster to decorate the classroom.


3 Responses to “Learning some colours with… Pocoyo!!!”

  1. thinkingpaco August 25, 2014 at 9:15 pm #

    This is a very nice article!

    I’m impressed about your song, yeah we all have to do things like that in the class… but not all of us are so brave to record and post it.

    I also used Pocoyo in the classroom, but I must say my students don’t like it, which is disturbing. I play an episode on the projector and I really enjoy watching it. However; the 7 and 8 year olds tell me they’re too old for that!

    • laiaprincep August 25, 2014 at 9:27 pm #

      Hello 😀

      Thanks for your lovely comment. I’m a newbe in the blogging world so whenever I receive a comment I get very excited.

      Most of my posts are about preschool, so when I say that I use Pocoyo in my lessons I mean I watch it with my 3 year old pupils. When they are this young they love it 🙂

      With my 7 and 8 year old students we have watched Super Why and Little Einsteis, have you tried these ones? They rarely complain and find it more suitable for their age.

      • thinkingpaco August 26, 2014 at 9:23 am #

        I don’t know those shows but I’ll definately have a look at them when the school year starts again.

Leave a Reply

